Western spring

.

2016-05-14

 

.

2 thoughts on “Western spring

  1. I understand why branding day was disliked. I spent 18 years on a farm/ranch and never saw an animal branded. Guess my daddy shielded me from that. Of course I knew what they were doing but I didn’t have to see.

    Like

    • That’s an interesting comment… personally, I think it’s too bad you didn’t get to be involved. Now that you say that, I can see how still photos might make it look pretty traumatic, but the cowboys are amazingly efficient and speedy. If you get a chance to go to a branding, you should. Especially if there’s someone there who can help explain what’s going on and why each step happens. I swerve to miss bunnies in the road and take all my spiders out of the house instead of squishing them… but I actually enjoy branding quite a bit. There are exceptions to every rule, but for the most part, I truly believe that cattlemen do their very best to treat all of their animals with care and respect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

