wp.jpg

 

This past Sunday, I opened the door and let the dog out into warm (for this time of year), mild weather.
I went back in the house to get walking shoes, a jacket and the leash.
I opened the door to a wall of hail-like snow blowing up the hill, with wild, windy integrity.

Needless to say, I told the dog we had to wait.
He was not pleased.
I told him, if it was still storming in 10 minutes, I would get my hat and we would go out anyway.

Within 10 minutes, the storm was gone and the clouds were blowing out – headed in a south-easterly direction.

Later that night, the local news station (a starter station) had a TERRIBLE newscast.
They interviewed a bunch of locals at the gas station about a word no one had ever heard.
There were whole minutes of people staring blankly at the camera waiting for some sort of cue.

But, ultimately, since I was waiting for the PowerBall numbers, I did learn something.
This crazy snow-hail is called graupel.

merriam-webster.com – 
graupel
noun grau·pel \ˈgrau̇-pəl\
Definition of graupel
:  granular snow pellets —called also soft hail

Who knew?

Also, this morning, there were liquid rain drops on my windshield.
When the windshield wipers spread them out over the glass, the water froze –
into a thin sheet of candy ice.

.

.

Ahhh…. and some days, I just get to talking about the weather!

.

Graupel

Leave a Reply

