Red Pen

redPen

.

There is something oddly satisfying when I can confidently sweep my red pen over a sentence to polish it, just a little.

.

When the original thought is barely changed at all… but a forgotten “s” or a “the the” can be simply rectified…

.

AP style can be a beast – ever so conditional!

My style guide is permanently open to the “numerals” entry…

     “a ratio of 2-to-1, a 2-1 ratio
 1 in 4 voters
seven houses 7 miles apart
he walked 4 miles
minus 10, zero, 60 degrees”
.
But, when everything is finally smoothed together, it gives me a weird sense of power and accomplishment – to have taken something rough and turned it into a rhythmic patter of verbal description.

.

I want to buy one writer in particular a thesaurus – unfortunately, it wouldn’t be appropriate, given our current hierarchal structure.

.

I also want to do away with certain “modifications” of our specific publication (who doesn’t capitalize headline titles?!).

.

But overall, my inner word-nerd is satisfied, giving a subtle magic touch of a red-pen wand.

.

.

On a separate note, this kind of post makes me paranoid that I’ve committed some egregious editing error.
Call me out if I have – I would rather know, so I can fix it!  🙂

.

Does editing give you the same weird satisfaction or does it make you cranky?

.

.

Leave a Reply

