Cause

.

This is your soapbox.

          I can respect it – sitting uneven on the curb

                                     under the streetlight

                                      as the sun comes up on a warm, mild day.

.

In fact,

      if you stepped down and the box was

                                                             empty

                                                              on the corner

.

with no one to cry out –

Oh! The Injustice!

.

I would protect the box

                                until you came back to claim it

                                or

                                until someone with renewed energy

                                found the empty box to stand on

.

and cry out

              to all of the passer-by.

.

I would pause,

                       and maybe smile up at her –

                        if she caught my eye.

.

Then I would pick up my feet

                                          and move on.

.

It isn’t my soapbox.

.

I know you want to make room for me.

                                  You want me to stand on my

                                                                       tip-toes

                                                                       to share the box

.

on the curb

            under the streetlight

            in the bright sunlight of a warm, mild day.

.

But you don’t see the other things that I have

                                                                                        to stand for.

.

You think

         I am one of “those people,”

                                          you think

                                                  I “belong.”

.

.

Yes. I will smile up at you

                                if you catch my eye.

I will make sure

                   your soapbox has a place

                                                 on the curb

                                                 under the streetlight

                                                 as the sun is setting on the warm, mild day

.

and I will go on

                     my way

                            down the cooling asphalt

                                                      alone through the shadows – as the sunlight begins to fade.

.

.

2 thoughts on “Cause

Leave a Reply

