Mixed Emotion

A military friend recently posted a whole string of meme-photos.

Each photo had a civilian-world-photo pasted with a military shot that was somehow related.

Example:

Just because someone doesn’t have scars, doesn’t mean they are not battling.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 2.02.25 PM

.

The point of the photos seems to be proving how silly and petty these meme-posts are…

And some of them are a little ridiculous.

.

But this bothers me –

WAIT! Don’t get me wrong!
I respect service men and women and I believe that there are many veterans and active-duty personnel that fight invisible battles every day that the rest of the world can not see.

But…

That shouldn’t undermine other people’s battles.

I have no idea what being in a the middle of a war-strewn desert is like. True.

But – does that mean that none of my battles or scars are real? No.

Human beings are, by nature, vulnerable. We all bleed and we all get hurt.

Instead of playing down someone else’s struggles, why not support each other?

I may not understand your demons, but I will do my best to understand that you have them. Please respect that I have some too.

.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 2.13.32 PM

.

NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO FEEL ALONE
.

.

One thought on “Mixed Emotion

  1. What ticks me off are all the “charities” exploiting veterans, but the money hardly ever gets to the soldiers, and yet stupid Americans send $$$$ to get a T-shirt or other pointless trinket – and they think this means they’ve done something to help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

