Sun/Moon Roof

“I was the kind of young that thrilled you

and also young enough to be thrilled.”

There is a sunroof in your new truck,

you show me like a six-year old with his favorite GI Joe.

.

Are you thinking about the future

long yellow lines on black asphalt and sunny days and 80 miles per hour?

 .

Or, are you hoping that I am remembering when

we parked on the side of a dark highway

.

not too far out of town, really,

close enough that headlights spied on us every now and then

.

didn’t we look at the stars through the roof?

maybe I’m remembering it wrong. maybe I was looking through the windshield of that old truck.

.

I know for sure that it was warm – 

there were so many, many stars! silver glitter dumped into that black, black blue

.

I was the kind of young that thrilled you

and also young enough to be thrilled.

.

I didn’t have anything to hide

from you, but I didn’t want any of those headlights to see me

 .

and now, headlights wouldn’t bother me so much,

but I know more about the things you obscure.

I also keep my tongue pressed against my teeth

while you show off the rest of the new rig – taillights will be the last thing I see.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

